Girls reading about astrology in the bed

Astrology basics

Astrology is a fascinating and complex subject that has been around for thousands of years. This article is intended to provide a short overview of astrology basics, principles of astrology as well as explore some of its most important concepts.

The roots of astrology can be traced back to ancient civilizations, such as the Babylonians and the Greeks, who developed the earliest astrological systems. These systems were based on the observation and study of the movement and relative positions of celestial bodies, such as planets and stars, and their influence on human affairs and the natural world.

From ancient times to the present day, people have looked to astrology to gain insight into their lives, their personalities, and their destinies. Whether you’re a skeptic or a believer, astrology offers a unique way to explore the mysteries of the universe and our place in it.

Astrology elements and signs

There are 12 astrological signs, each representing a different period of the year and associated with different characteristics and traits.

The signs are

All signs are divided into four groups, based on their fundamental qualities and characteristics. Each group is represented by one of four elements, which are fire, earth, air, and water. The ancient Babylonians were one of the first cultures to study astrology and to associate the four elements with the four seasons and the four cardinal directions. The ancient Greeks also had a deep interest in astrology, and the concept of the four elements was further developed by the philosopher Empedocles in the 5th century BCE. He believed that fire, earth, air, and water are the basic building blocks of the natural world and thus all matter was composed of a combination of the four. In astrology each element is believed to influence human personalities, emotions, and behaviors.

In modern astrology, the four elements continue to be an important part of astrological interpretation. By understanding the qualities associated with each element, we can gain a deeper insight into our own personalities and the personalities of those around us.

Astrological Fire signs

The fire signs in astrology, which include Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius, are associated with the element of fire due to their energetic, passionate, and fiery nature.

Fire is a symbol of energy, warmth, and creativity, and these traits are reflected in the personality traits of individuals born under these signs.

People born under fire signs are often described as dynamic, enthusiastic, and confident, with a strong sense of self and a natural ability to lead. They are typically driven by their passions and are not afraid to take risks or pursue their goals with vigor and intensity.

Photo by Anna Shvets

However, fire signs can also be impulsive, quick-tempered, and prone to overconfidence, which can lead to conflicts and misunderstandings. It’s important for fire signs to learn to channel their energy and drive in positive directions and to be mindful of their interactions with others.

Some famous people born under fire signs are Scarlett Johansson, Miley Cyrus, DJ Khaled, Rita Ora, Chrissy Teigen.

Astrological Earth signs

The concept of earth signs in astrology emerged from the observation of the practical, grounded, and stable qualities of certain zodiac signs. These signs were believed to be influenced by the element of earth, which was associated with the physical world, material possessions, and stability.

Main Photo by cottonbro studio

Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn are the three earth signs in astrology.

Taurus is associated with material possessions, pleasure, and luxury.

Virgo is associated with practicality, organization, and analytical thinking.

Capricorn is associated with ambition, responsibility, and hard work.

In astrology, earth signs are often described as reliable, grounded, and practical. They are known for their ability to focus on the task at hand and to work diligently towards their goals. Earth signs are also associated with stability and material possessions, and they are often drawn to careers that involve working with their hands, such as farming, construction, and crafts.

Some famous people who are astrological earth signs: Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson (Taurus), Keanu Reeves (Virgo), Salma Hayek (Virgo)

If you’re looking for your perfect earth sign, you can find them on Stars Align free astrology dating app.

Astrological Air signs

The air signs are Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius, and they are associated with intellect, communication, and socialization.

Photos by Pixabay

These folks are known for being quick-witted and charming, but they can also be a bit flighty and unreliable. You never know which version of them you’re going to get. One minute they’re your best friend, the next minute they’re off chasing some new shiny object. But hey, Geminis, we love you anyway!

Next, we’ve got Libra. These are the peacemakers of the zodiac, always striving for harmony and balance in their lives. They’re the ones who will go to great lengths to avoid conflict and keep everyone happy. But sometimes, Libras, you need to speak up and stand your ground! Don’t be afraid to ruffle some feathers every once in a while.

And last but not least, we’ve got Aquarius. These folks are the innovators and the rebels of the zodiac. They’re not afraid to go against the status quo and shake things up a bit. They’re always seeking new ways to push the boundaries and explore the unknown. But sometimes, Aquarians, you need to slow down and think things through. Not everything needs to be revolutionized all at once!

Some famous people who are astrological air signs: Kanye West (Gemini), Audrey Hepburn (Aquarius)

Astrological Water signs


Water signs are associated with the element of water and are believed to be deeply emotional and intuitive. They are also associated with the feminine, the subconscious, and the realm of dreams.

The three water signs are Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. Cancer is symbolized by the crab and is associated with emotions, nurturing, and family. Scorpio is symbolized by the scorpion and is associated with intensity, passion, and transformation. Pisces is symbolized by the fish and is associated with creativity, spirituality, and empathy.

Water signs have a long history in astrology, with many cultures placing great importance on the element of water in their beliefs and practices. For example, in ancient Greece, water was associated with the goddess Aphrodite, who was the embodiment of love and beauty.

In modern astrology, water signs are often seen as being in touch with their emotions and intuition, and they are believed to be compassionate, creative, and spiritually aware. They are also known for their deep empathy and ability to connect with others on an emotional level.

Whether you believe in astrology or not, there is no denying the deep cultural significance and rich history of water signs. So the next time you come across a Cancer, Scorpio, or Pisces, take a moment to appreciate the emotional depth and intuition that they bring to the world.

Ready to meet your one and only water sign? Find them on Stars Align free astrology dating app.

Main Photo by Monstera

Back to blog